

## HARRY GWALA DISTRICT MUNICIPALITY "Together We Deliver and Grow" OFFICE OF THE MUNICIPAL MANAGER 40 Main Street, Private Bag X501, IXOPO 3276

<u>Tel: (039) 834 8707</u> Fax: (039) 834 1701 Email: NgubaneN1@harrygwaladm.gov.za

Media Statement

Attention: News Editors/Journalist

26 November 2021

WORK STARTS NOW FOR HARRY GWALA DISTRICT'S NEW COUNCIL

KZN's Harry Gwala district municipality has sworn in its new council at today's inaugural council sitting, with Cllr Zamokwakhe David Nxumalo elected as Mayor, Cllr Tiny Nosisa Jojozi elected as Deputy Mayor, and Cllr Mganu Sibongiseni Mdunge elected as Speaker.

The inaugural council sitting was held at Peace Initiative Hall in Ixopo. The ceremony was presided over by KZN MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (Cogta) Sipho Hlomuka who made an impassioned plea to the newly elected leadership to serve the people of Harry Gwala with diligence and humility.

"As the newly elected leadership of this municipality, you have to hit the ground running and ensure that the rollout of basic services, such as water and sanitation, is done with haste," said Hlomuka.

On the occasion of today's election of the district's office bearers, Mayor Nxumalo urged all those elected to start now working for the community. "The real work begins now. Pull up your sleeves, take off your suits and get ready to implement the mandate as per the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa," said Mayor Nxumalo.

This inaugural sitting was attended by dignitaries, including the former eThekwini Mayor Zandile Gumede, former Health Minister Dr Zwelini Mkhize, local Mayors and other officials.

Mayor Nxumalo is a product of the Harry Gwala district, born and bred in the area of Thuleshe. He grew up in a big family of 4 girls and 6 boys. He began his education at Mehlomane Lower Primary School and Matriculated from Nokweja High School in 1988. Mayor Nxumalo is a Christian and family man.

His political career dates back many years back when he first joined the African National Congress (ANC) in 1993. In 1994 he was elected as the first branch chairperson of the party for the Thuleshe branch. Currently he is ANC Chairperson in the Harry Gwala Region.

Joint media statement issued by the Department of Cogta and the Harry Gwala District Municipality.